Leah Dewhurst’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Final Reflection April 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — leahdewhurst @ 9:54 pm

As ECI 831 comes to an end I would like to take this time to reflect upon my own personal journey through this class. 

Learning is definately a life long-long journey, it never ends.  I thought I was up to date with the latest technology, but when Alec first posted the top 100 Web 2.0 tools, I knew about 15.  Now when I go back to that website, I still don’t know all but I know and I am aware of double of what I new before.

This course has given my the opportunity to present not just powerpoints to my class but to have my own students start to experiment with the new technologies.  The simple tool voicethread, was a great start with my grade 2 students.  It is a very useful tool that can be used in so many different ways.  My students now get to express themselves and share their work to a whole new audience. 

The networks that I have made, I think has been the biggest impact on my teaching and where I want to go.  Now I don’t have to learn something new on my own. I have built a network that is willing to help and share their conversations.  We are here to meet the needs of our students and we all want to make a positive impact on them, so why not embrace these new technologies together.  Today, for the first time I connected with a school in Moose Jaw, using yackpack.  Again, another very simple tool that will definately  have its benefits further along in my journey. 

I believe Alec mentioned that our learning is affecting others by what we are doing.  I think it has shown to others the possibilities that are out there.  I know when I first started my classroom blog, I had some hestitant parents, but now I have seen some of them actually create their own blogs 🙂

In the end, even though this course may be over per say, I hope the networks and the conversations continue. I thank everyone who helped make this class a wonderful experience!!!!!

 

4 Responses to “Final Reflection”

  1. Dave Says:

    You implemented some good tools and ideas. You deserve to have th title of “Voicethread Queen!”

  2. Shaun Loeppky Says:

    I look forward to your great insights in the future… remember you may not always get the responses, but I will certainly be reading! Write you soon! 🙂

  3. Shaun Loeppky Says:

    I look forward to your great insights in the future… remember you may not always get the responses, but I will certainly be reading! Write you soon! 🙂

  4. Rosanne Says:

    Thanks Leah. I have already bookmarked the Web.2.0 tools site. I hope we stay in touch. I look forward to seeing what else you will be doing. Take care and enjoy the rest of your school year.


Leave a Reply

