Leah Dewhurst’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Digital Project Update March 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — leahdewhurst @ 5:50 pm

Now that school is back in session, I was able to tie up some loose ends.

My kids and I just finished our Dinosaur unit.  We concluded with a voicethread project where the students shared one thing they learned. 

 http://voicethread.com/share/71911/

We also finished our biography reports. Each student chose a person to write about. Here are a couple examples:

http://voicethread.com/share/94337/

We also added voki to our classroom blog. Check out our classroom blog to see it 🙂

 During the month of March we participated in a collaborative project from JenuineTech. We graphed Lucky Charms to see which marshmallow had the most. 

                                                      finalgraph.gif

Our hypothesis of there being more CLOVERS was proven INCORRECT.
There were more Shooting Stars than any other shape.

We have also now joined the collaborative project called Voices of the World. We can’t wait to find out what we will be doing in April.  The only clue we were given was something about colours.

The university students have done a great job adding comments to my students. Most have them has also decided to stay on until the end of the school year 🙂

One of my students created her own voki about Earth Hour.  You can check her voki at: http://classblogmeister.com/blog.php?blogger_id=162331&blog_id=574826&position2=7

 

8 Responses to “Digital Project Update”

  1. Travis Kelln Says:

    I really liked your Voicethreads. I was wondering how you got all your students to be able to be on the thread? Did you create for them and they all went in under your e-mail and password??

    Well done.

  2. Ryan Says:

    Your classroom blog is fantastic! You have are creating one of the greatest examples of the use of new technologies in early elementary. It is quite inspiring to check out. I hope it inspires many teachers to follow and learn technologies like voicethread, blogging, etc. I particularly like your Voki. It’s probably the most creative use of a Voki I’ve seen. Keep up the exceptional work.

  3. I am collecting examples of how educators are using Voicethread in their classroom or for professional development on a wiki at: http://voicethread4education.wikispaces.com/

    My plan is to share these examples with other technology teachers who provide professional development in their schools.

    Feel free to add your own examples or links to resources. Thanks in advance,
    Colette Cassinelli
    http://www.edtechvision.org

  4. lgatzke Says:

    Wow, you have been working hard. I am so impressed with what your students are creating. How did you get avatars of your students on the sides of the Voicethread presentation? That is cool. I just did a Voicethread with a grade 1 class. I have to go back tomorrow and get a couple of record again as I messed up. You sure are using technology in meaningful ways with your students Leah. Keep it up!!

  5. Dave Bircher Says:

    Very good work. Like we discussed before, I am using you as the “Voicethread authority.” I need to get mine up and running soon for my first attempt.

  6. This is so cool. You are doing really wonderful things with your young students. I’m sure they’re all excited to come to school everyday! I’m having fun working with the grade 2&3 class at my school and showing them all of the great Web 2.0 tools that they can use.

  7. Thanks, I have learned very intersting thing about dinosaurs.
    Say thank to your class
    Luis
    You should visit my voicetread about La Havana
    http://voicethread.com/share/56582/

  8. sharon Says:

    Hey Leah,

    just found your blog and hope you now know what the task is for VOTW this month. Look forward to see what you make.

    Sharon


Leave a Reply

