Leah Dewhurst’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Virtual Field Trip March 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — leahdewhurst @ 6:19 pm

What a great success!!!!

My grade two students participated in the first ever virtual field trip in Saskatchewan through the Royal Tyrell Museum in Drumheller, Alberta.  The students got to ask a Science Educator their most pondering questions about dinosaurs such as: How tough was the toughest dinosaur?  What did the climate and land look like in the cretaceous period? How do fossils form and how do we know where to look? The responses were given to the students through movie clips, images and they got to view real fossils through a desktop camera.  It was a truly amazing experience as the interaction that took place between the museum and students was unforgettable. 

I truly recommend this experience for any classroom. I think my school division has ironed out all the tech problems (which took about three weeks) to set it up for anyone in this province (but don’t quote me on that :))

I can’t seem to embed the video here, so here is the link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNEaTxH870U

 

4 Responses to “Virtual Field Trip”

  1. This is so cool. I’m introducing blogging to the grade 2&3s at my school. I’ll link to your blog and post your vidoe. It will be a fun way to start.

  2. rdrunner Says:

    Congrats, Leah. I’ve observed students who have participated in similar vc experiences with Tyrell. The engagement is highly visible, and the comments the students make afterward are telling.

    Cindy

  3. This looks interesting Leah. I’m curious – did your students generate the questions beforehand and send them to the museum – or was there a general virtual tour with a time for questions afterwards??

    Just thought I’d inquire – I think it’s definitely something I’ll share with teachers in our division.

  4. coreyterry Says:

    Wow – very cool Leah! Your students will remember the experience!


Leave a Reply

