Leah Dewhurst’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Classroom Blog February 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — leahdewhurst @ 4:59 pm

Today I spent the majority of the day setting up my classroom blog.  It has been a very exciting, overwhelming and frustrating experience so far.  Once I have figured out the layout and got all my students names entered, I was pumped and ready to go.  Then when I clicked on view my blog, everything I “thought” I did, didn’t appear.  I guess that would be the frustrating part!!!!  So I cleared my head… went back in and figured out what I had done.  My students names where in the “orphan” group… meaning they didn’t have a home.  I forgot to switch each of their names over to 2D.  Something so simple, yet complicated at the same time.  I have now added the yackpack walkie-talkie feature.  This feature allows you to leave a comment.  You just press the button, hold and talk away.  I think this feature will be great for parents or anyone to leave comments or ask questions.  I have to thank Kathy Cassidy again, for helping me with my frustrations on the blosmeister site.  I am now, once again excited about this blog. 

I plan on teaching students how to blog this week.  I know a couple of the parents are very interested in this project, so they have agreed to come and help.  This will definitely help with the classroom management aspect.  I am curious to find out how long it will take for a student to create a blog and how this experience will impact my student’s writing? 

 

5 Responses to “Classroom Blog”

  1. Rosanne Says:

    It looks great. I set my subject blog up as well. There is a lot I still don’t understand but I keep playing around with it. I think I might try Blogmeister and see which format I like best. For me, the easiest one to understand is the winner. Thanks for the info you emailed me. We’ll keep in touch via the many tools at our disposal. Have fun!

  2. Dave Bircher Says:

    I have just started on my Law 30 blog. The students are somewhat lethargic on posts and quality right now. I may need to investigate your yackpack walkie talkie feature sometime as well. I am still looking for some layout options as well. if you have some ideas lets share. Oh also, I just set all my students up with Gmail accounts and then they comment on my posts. The way I have it set is that their comment must be approved by me before it gets published. If something is not done right, I can delete, send them an email and get them to resubmit if needed.

    http//law30mont.edublogs.org

  3. Hmmm. Leah, did the Yackpack feature that you chose look like mine? From your description, it sounds like you are expecting it to record, and if so, that may be the reason that you are having trouble embedding it. Mine is not for recording comments, it is live.
    Why don’t you try talking to me on mine this week? Just open my blog, click down in the middle of the yackpack and talk. If I’m there (I try to leave it open through the day), we’ll chat.

  4. Corey Terry Says:

    I think your students will enjoy blogging vs traditional note taking or journaling, we’ll – my students do anyway! I hope things work out well for you with the class blog.

  5. Laurie Says:

    Way to go Dave. My students have done their first blog….a response to a math video. I have been amazed at their thinking.


Leave a Reply

