Leah Dewhurst’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

First Class January 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — leahdewhurst @ 4:17 am

This is my second course that I have taken online, however it was a first for using this type of techonology. The first course I took was just a chat forum, and a space where we could upload different files and articles to aid in our learning.  Last night, it was neat that we could all be on webcam to see and talk to one another. This idea of conferencing/meeting with one another in the comfort of my own home is wonderful. I do and probably will miss the human contact aspect that a regular classroom brings, however, this way we can meet other poeple that wouldn’t have been possible if we had only met in a regular classroom setting. 

I always considered myself tech savvy, but I guess that was in my ‘own way’.  I was excited that I knew how to use powerpoint, and make a webquest using publisher.  While I was teaching overseas, powerpoint presentations where the “in” thing and I was excited as one of my schools actually had the computer hooked up to the tv that we had in our classroom.  Learning became more exciting as I could add visuals to my lessons.  Now that I have joined this class, I feel as though I have not kept up with the new technology that has been added over the years.  It was overwhelming to say the least.  But now that I have set up my accounts and have begun to play around with each program, eventually I will hopefully begin to understand how each of them work. I am glad to see that some of us are in the same boat learning this new technology, and that we will be able to help one another out 🙂

 

 

4 Responses to “First Class”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Alec Couros Says:

    Welcome Leah. It’s great to see the type of international experience you have. I have little myself (teaching), but know many educators in similar situations as you were.

    Thanks for starting this space, I have it in my reader and will be able to give you more feedback as you write. Also, thanks for your introductory video, it really helps to get a closer connection this way.

    All the best,
    Alec

  3. CdnMathTeacher Says:

    I know how you feel! I used to think that I was fairly cutting edge using PowerPoint in my math classes. Then I went to an amazing conference that has exploded my horizons.

  4. Connie Cossar Says:

    Hi Leah,
    Your reflection about being tech savvy in your “own way” sounds so similar to how I felt after the first class. I too was so proud that I could use PowerPoint like nobody else I knew and was the resident expert on the program at our firm, but was quickly put in place by all of these new technologies. It will be an exciting journey this semester! Bon Voyage!


Leave a Reply

